like us on facebook follow us on twitter
Lincoln College

Term Dates

At Oxford, the academic year is divided into three terms - Michaelmas, Hilary and Trinity. 'Full term' (the period in which lectures and tutorials take place) lasts for eight weeks. You will often find that dates are referred to as 'Tuesday of 3rd week' or 'Friday of 7th week'. This system is logically extended to the week prior to the start of term ('0th week') and after the end of term ('9th week').

You will find that you need to be in Oxford beyond the eight weeks of full term. Undergraduates need to be in residence by Thursday of 0th week as there are often College exams on Friday of 0th week. Please note that it will not be possible to stay in College accommodation after the end of Michaelmas full term. Please make arrangements to return home on Saturday of 8th week of Michaelmas Term. University examinations will sometimes continue into 9th or 10th weeks of Hilary or Trinity terms: you will receive prior warning if this is the case. However, please check your examination dates before booking any holidays. The term dates for 2017/18 can be found below; please see here for the dates of subsequent years.

It is required that students will be in residence for the duration of full term, including weekends. If you do need to leave Oxford during full term you should get permission from your tutor in advance. 

2017-18

Michaelmas Term
Sunday 0th Week Sunday 1st October 2017 All postgraduate students normally to be in residence by this day
Tuesday 0th Week Tuesday 3rd October 2017 Undergraduate Freshers arrive
Thursday 0th Week Thursday 5th October 2017 All undergraduates to arrive on or before this day
Sunday 1st Week Sunday 8th October 2017 Start of full term
Saturday 8th Week Saturday 2nd December 2017 End of full term
 
Hilary Term
Sunday 0th Week Sunday 7th January 2018 All postgraduate students normally to be in residence by this day
Thursday 0th Week Thursday 11th January 2018 All undergraduates to arrive on or before this day
Sunday 1st Week Sunday 14th January 2018  Start of full term
Saturday 8th Week Saturday 10th March 2018 End of full term
 
Trinity Term
Sunday 0th Week Sunday 15th April 2018  All postgraduate students normally to be in residence by this day
Thursday 0th Week Thursday 19th April 2018 All undergraduates to arrive on or before this day
Sunday 1st Week Sunday 22nd April 2018 Start of full term
Saturday 8th Week Saturday 16th June 2018 End of full term