like us on facebook follow us on twitter
Lincoln College

Term Dates

At Oxford, the academic year is divided into three terms - Michaelmas, Hilary and Trinity. 'Full term' (the period in which lectures and tutorials take place) lasts for eight weeks. You will often find that dates are referred to as 'Tuesday of 3rd week' or 'Friday of 7th week'. This system is logically extended to the week prior to the start of term ('0th week') and after the end of term ('9th week').

You will find that you need to be in Oxford beyond the eight weeks of full term. Undergraduates need to be in residence by Thursday of 0th week as there are often College exams on Friday of 0th week. Please note that it will not be possible to stay in College accommodation after the end of Michaelmas full term. Please make arrangements to return home on Saturday of 8th week of Michaelmas Term. University examinations will sometimes continue into 9th or 10th weeks of Hilary or Trinity terms: you will receive prior warning if this is the case. However, please check your examination dates before booking any holidays. The term dates for 2018/19 can be found below; please see here for the dates of subsequent years.

It is required that students will be in residence for the duration of full term, including weekends. If you do need to leave Oxford during full term you should get permission from your tutor in advance. 

2018-19

Michaelmas Term
Sunday 0th Week Sunday 30th September 2018 All postgraduate students normally to be in residence by this day
Tuesday 0th Week Tuesday 2nd October 2018 Undergraduate Freshers arrive
Thursday 0th Week Thursday 4th October 2018 All undergraduates to arrive on or before this day
Sunday 1st Week Sunday 7th October 2018 Start of full term
Saturday 8th Week Saturday 1st December 2018 End of full term
 
Hilary Term
Sunday 0th Week Sunday 6th January 2019 All postgraduate students normally to be in residence by this day
Thursday 0th Week Thursday 10th January 2019 All undergraduates to arrive on or before this day
Sunday 1st Week Sunday 13th January 2019 Start of full term
Saturday 8th Week Saturday 9th March 2019 End of full term
 
Trinity Term
Sunday 0th Week Sunday 21st April 2019  All postgraduate students normally to be in residence by this day
Thursday 0th Week Thursday 25th April 2019 All undergraduates to arrive on or before this day
Sunday 1st Week Sunday 28th April 2019 Start of full term
Saturday 8th Week Saturday 22nd June 2019 End of full term